We have a wide variety of Passover desserts that are perfect for your seder or as add ons to your favorite Passover Baskets. Included are many Passover favorites for your family and friends to enjoy! Every food item is certified Kosher for Passover. UPDATE AS OF THURSDAY 4/2: We will be shipping our Passover gifts throughout Passover, many with substitutions but no less delicious and festive. Happy Pesach!
What Makes Passover Desserts Different From Other Desserts?
For Passover, out with the challah, babka, rugelach and black and white cookies and in with Kosher for Passover cookies, macaroons, sponge cake, 7 layer cake and more. What makes Passover desserts different from desserts the rest of the year? In 2 words: leavening and flour. Any flour that is fermented or can cause fermentation are not eaten on Passover. This includes wheat flour, rye, barley, oats and spelt. Additionally, unless baking powder and baking soda are marked KOSHER FOR PASSOVER, they are not appropriate for Passover baking.
For those of us who follow a gluten free diet, Passover desserts are welcome. Most Passover desserts are free of gluten since flour is not an ingredient. Macaroons, a popular Passover dessert, are generally a simple recipe of coconut and egg whites, making them gluten free. Most Passover cakes and cookies use potato starch or potato flour, also making them gluten free. However, matzo meal, which is frequently used in Passover cooking and baking is not gluten free nor is matzo (unless specifically baked as such).